Fri, Apr 10 | National Concert Hall

William in TIFA "Luminous Shadow" 「浮光流影」

Registration is Closed
William in TIFA "Luminous Shadow" 「浮光流影」

Time & Location

Apr 10, 2020, 7:30 PM GMT+8
National Concert Hall, No. 21-1號, Zhongshan South Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei City, Taiwan 100

About the event  

Memory can be luminous so as to cast shadows in time. Certain memories in life are so profound that they need to be slowly brewed and carefully tasted, similar to the process how literature is penned, music is composed, or photography is developed. 

 Inspired by the bestselling novel The Stolen Bicycle written by WU Ming-yi, pianist WANG Pei-yao seeks to explore a new dimension of literature and music through the complexity of life itself. Musicians WANG Pei-yao, William Wei, laureate of the Queen Elisabeth International Violin Competition, and Victor Coo, the Filipino-Chinese cellist, perform pieces by the Eastern European composers Janáček, Ligeti, Enescu, and Kodály. Some of the pieces were based on rural folksongs collected by the composers, which then inspired them to produce compositions of their own. This process is akin to the way readers experience different dialects phonically throughout the novel. The music reflects the elaborate setup of the novel to evoke the audience's deep hidden emotions. Jeffrey Lim, the Malaysian photographer, joins forces with the musical troupe in performance. He will transfigure the music into images for recollection, thereby allowing the stories to live on in the memory. 

 Performance Date

2020 / 04 / 10(Fri.)19:30

2020 / 04 / 11(Sat.)19:30


• Leoš Janáček: "In the Mists" I. Andante • Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Sonata No.1 in F minor, Op. 80 I. Andante assai • Zoltán Kodály: Sonata for Solo Cello II. Adagio con gran espressione • György Ligeti: Piano Etudes, Book 1 No.6 Automne à Varsovie • George Enescu: Violin Sonata No.3 II. Andante sostenuto e misterioso • Karol Szymanowski/ Kochanski: King Roger Op.46 , Chant de Roxanne • Arno Babadjanian: Piano Trio in F-Sharp minor I. Largo- allegro espressivo II. Andante • Federico Mompou: Musica Callada- Angelico

Share this event